CoronavirusTravelFederal Government Ban Travelers From Four Countries Into Nigeria

The Federal Government has banned travelers from South Africa, Brazil, India, and Turkey by one month due to the rising COVID-19 cases there.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Chairman, Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha, said this in Abuja on Monday at the briefing of the committee.

“The four major variants of concern are now classified as Alpha (UK), Beta (SA); Gamma (Brazil) and Delta (India). The Delta variant which has wreaked devastating havoc is not yet found in Nigeria hence the need to tighten our borders and be more vigilant.”

“The six-month period of ban for the first batch of 100 is almost complete and we use this opportunity to reassure Nigerians that sanctions will be imposed on violators of measures put in place to protect them and safeguard our nation.”  “Nigerians should not lower their guards yet as “we continue to see spikes in some countries (including African countries) and the emergence of variants of concern in several jurisdictions where the third wave has occurred,” Mustapha said.

He said the government had received several appeals from some inbound passengers to Nigeria banned for six months for violating COVID-19 protocols.

Hassan Umar Shallpella (Regional Correspondent)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :