NewsSoccerSportCAF lists Qualifying countries and referees for AFCON 2023 tournament

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are among the 24 national teams that have sealed qualification for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations in Cote d’Ivoire next year.

Other countries that secured a spot in the upcoming game are Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire (host), DR Congo, Egypt, and Equatorial Guinea.

Also on the list are The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Senegal (title holder), South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, and Zambia, among others.

Ahead of the tournament, the Confederation of African Football, CAF, has listed 69 referees for a preparatory course.

CAF released a list of 32 referees, 33 assistant referees, and four VAR officials, but there was no Nigerian referee(s) made the shortlist.

The 2023 AFCON will take place from January 13 to February 11, 2024, after it was postponed from its original June 2023 date.

By Ezinwanne Onwuka (Senior Reporter)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :