Arts & CultureFilm & TVNewsFull List: All The AMVCA 8 Winners

It was a night of glitz, glamour, happy tears, support, and heartfelt speeches from winners at the grand-finale of the 8th edition of the African Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA) held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island on Saturday night.

Celebrated annually, AMVCA, often referred to as Africa’s most prestigious film award ceremony, is an accolade presented by MultiChoice in recognition and celebration of outstanding achievements in the African film and TV industry.

This year’s event was a celebration of haute couture of Africa. Call it a gallery of fashion art as movie people across Africa came resplendent in different forms of fashion expressions.

From the mesmerizing to the captivating; from the colourful to the glittering; and the bohemian to the bizarre, it was fashion explosion all the way spruced with glamour and glitz.


Here is a full list of winners:

Best Actress In a Drama
Osas Ighodaro – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Actor in a Drama
Stan Nze – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Actress in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series)
Funke Akindele-Bello – Omo Ghetto: The Saga

Best Actor in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series)
Samuel Perry (Broda Shaggi) – Dwindle

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series)
Omowummi Dada – Country Hard

Best Supporting Actor (Movie/TV Series)
Odunlade Adekola – Jankariwo

AMVCA Trailblazer Award
Teniola Aladese

Best Director
Ramsey Nouah – Rattle Snake: The Ahanna Story

Best Art Director (Movie/TV series)
Tunji Afolayan – Amina

Best Picture Editor
Tunde Apalowo – For Maria Ebun Pataki

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV series)
Jim Lively and James Nelson – Amina

Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series)
Mathew Yusuf — Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)
Manie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia and Biodun Stephen – Introducing The Kujus

Best Cinematographer
Muhammed Atta Ahmed – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Makeup
Balogun Abiodun – Omo Ghetto: The Saga

Best Costume Designer
Millicent T. Jack – Amina

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili)
Freddy Feruzi – Obambo

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Hausa)
Voiceless — Rogers Ofime

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Yoruba)
Alaise — David Akande, Demola Yusuf and Edgard Leroy

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Igbo)
Nne-Ka — Uche Nnanna Maduka

Best Television Series (Drama/ Comedy)
The Mystic River — Rogers Ofime

Best Documentary
Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz and Ann Katrina Boberg – If Objects Could Speak

Best Short Film Or Online Video
I Am The Prostitute Mama Described — Taiwo Ogunnimo

Best Online Social Content Creator
Chukwuemeka Ejekwu (Mr Funny)

Best Movie (Southern Africa)
Hairareb — Dantagos Jimmy-Melani

Best Movie (East Africa)
The Girl In The Yellow Jumper — Morocco Omar

Best Movie (West Africa)
Collision Course – Bolanle Austen-Peters and Joseph Umoibom

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series)
Gold Coast Lounge – Pascal Aka and Raquel

Best Africa Magic Original Comedy Series
The Johnsons

Best Africa Magic Original Drama Series
The Rishantes – Dimbo Atiya

AMVCA Industry Merit Award
Taiwo Ajai-Lycett (OON)

Best MultiChoice Talent Factory
Engaito — Daisy Masembe

Best Overall Movie
Amina — Izu Ojukwu and Okey Ogunjiofor

By Ezinwanne Onwuka (Senior Reporter)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :