The organisers of the Headies unveiled the nominees for the 15th Headies Award show on their social media pages on Tuesday.

Leading the nominations this year is Wizkid with 10 nominations; followed by a tie between first-time nominee, Ayra Starr and returning 2021 ‘Next Rated’ nominee, Tems, with eight nominations.

DMW’s Davido follows with seven nominations, alongside former YBNL signee, Adekunle Gold. YBNL Record Label Boss and Pop singer, Olamide, his prodigy Fireboy, and Brymo follow with six nominations.

Ladipoe, Lojay, and BNXN all bag five nominations. Closely followed by Vector, Sarz, A-Q and Blaqbonez who all have four nominations each.

With the year in review spanning fifteen months from October 2020 to December 2021, a few categories have gotten more nominations than usual.

Topping the list with the highest nominations for a category is The Headies Viewer’s Choice Awards with eight nominees.

Here is the full list of nominees for the prestigious Headies Awards:

Rookie of the year


Next Rated

Ayra Starr

Best Recording of the Year

Celebrate Me – Patoranking
Essence – Wizkid ft. Tems
Joy – Falana
Loving Is Harder – Johnny Drille
Meji Meji – Brymo
Somebody’s Son – Tiwa Savage ft. Brandy

Producer of the Year

Beats By Jayy –  Golden (A-Q)
Blaise Beatz – Sinner (Adekunle Gold ft. Lucky Daye)
Niphkeys – Feel Good (Mohbad)
P Priime – Ozumba Mbadiwe (Reekado Banks)

Pheelz – High (Adekunle Gold ft. Davido)
Sarz – Monalisa (Lojay and Sarz)

Songwriter of the Year

Adekunle Gold – Sinner
Ajebo Hustlers – Loyalty
Brymo – Meji Meji
Falana – Joy
Fireboy DML – Peru
Omah Lay – Understand

Best R&B Single

Baby Riddim – Fave
Beggie Beggie – Ayra Starr  ft. Ckay
Essence – Wizkid ft. Tems
Running (To You) – Chike ft. Simi
Promise – Niniola
Sinner – Adekunle Gold ft. Luck Daye

Best Rap Single

Breathe – A-Q ft. Chike
Crown Of Clay – Vector and Mi Abaga ft. Pheelz
Early Momo– Vector ft. Goodgirl La
Feeling – Ladipoe ft. Bnxn
Tycoon – Show Dem Camp ft. Reminisce & Mojo
Loading – Olamide ft. Bad Boy Timz

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

Ayra Starr – Toxic
Liya – Alari
Niniola – 6th Heaven
Simi – Running (To You)
Tems – Essence
Waje – Last Time

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Brymo – Meji Meji
Johnny Drille – Loving is Harder
Oxlade – Ojuju
Ric Hassani – When I’m Gone
Tay Iwar – Peaking

Best Street-Hop Artiste

Bella Shmurda ft. Zlatan and Lincoln – Cash App
Rexxie and Mohbad – Kpk
Mohbad – Feel Good
Naira Marley – Koleyewon
Nektunez and Goya Menor – Ameno Amapiano (Remix)
Poco Lee, Portable and Olamide – Zazoo Zehh

Best Afrobeats Single of the Year

Bloody Samaritan – Ayra Starr
Bounce – Ruger
High – Adekunle Gold ft. Davido
Monalisa – Lojay and Sarz
Ozumba Mbadiwe – Reekado Banks
Peru – Fireboy DML

Headies’ Viewers Choice

Ayra Starr – Bloody Samaritan
Fireboy – Peru
Joeboy – Sip
Lojay and Sarz – Monalisa
Nektunez and Goya Menor – Ameno Amapiano (Remix)
Olamide ft. Omah Lay – Infinity
Rema – Soundgasm
Wizkid ft. Tems – Essence

Best Music Video

Champion – (Fireboy DML ft. D Smoke) Directed By Tg Omori
Ginger – (Wizkid ft. Burna Boy) Directed By Meji Alabi
Roju – (Chike) Directed By Pink
Rain – (Yemi Alade ft. Mzansi Youth Choir) Directed By Ovie Etseyatse
Bling – (Blaqbonez ft. Amaarae and Bnxn) Directed By Tg Omori
Running – (Ladipoe ft. Fireboy DML) Directed By Director K

Best Afrobeats Album

19 & Dangerous – Ayra Starr
A Better Time – Davido
Barnabas – Kizz Daniel
Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition) – Wizkid
Kpos Lifestyle – Ajebo Hustlers
Wondaland – Teni

Best Reggae & Dancehall Album

Gratitude – Timaya
Love Is War – Prettyboy D-O
Rainbow Riddim – Shank
Three – Patoranking
Yaadman Kingsize – Yung L

Best R&B Album

Before We Fall Asleep – Johnny Drille
If Orange Was A Place – Tems
Love Deep High Life – Omawumi
Rising – Falana
The Prince I Became – Ric Hassani
Water And Garri – Tiwa Savage

Best Rap Album

Carpe Diem – Olamide
Clone Wars Vol. 5 – The Algorhythm – Show Dem Camp
Golden – A-Q
Mafia Culture, Vol. 2.0 – Idowest
Providence – Ladipoe
Sex Over Love – Blaqbonez

Best ‘Alternative’ Song

Doings – Flavour
Free Your Mind – Made Kuti
Gonto – Ibejii
Hustle – Basketmouth, The Cavemen, Bez, Dice Ailes
Meji Meji – Brymo
Selense – The Cavemen

Best ‘Alternative’ Album

9: Esan – Brymo
Intermission – Ibejii
Legacy + – Femi Kuti and Made Kuti
Love And Highlife – The Cavemen
P.S. Thank You For Waiting – Wavy The Creator
Yabasi – Basketmouth

Best Collaboration

Beggie Beggie – Ayra Starr ft. Ckay
Bling – Blaqbonez ft. Amaarae and Bnxn
Early Momo – Vector ft. Goodgirl
Essence – Wizkid ft. Tems
Feeling – Ladipoe ft. Bnxn
Running (To You) – Chike ft. Simi

Album of the Year

9: Esan – Brymo
19 & Dangerous – Ayra Starr
Carpe Diem – Olamide
Legacy + – Femi Kuti and Made Kuti
Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition) – Wizkid
Yabasi – Basketmouth

Song of the Year

Celebrate Me – Patoranking
Doings – Flavour ft. Phyno
Essence – Wizkid ft. Tems
High – Adekunle Gold ft. Davido
Monalisa – Lojay and Sarz
Peru – Fireboy DML

Lyricist on the Roll

A-Q – The Last Cypher
Blaqbonez – The Last Cypher
Jesse Jagz – Vipers
Ladipoe – Providence
Payper Corleone – In Don We Trust
Vector – Crown Of Clay

Best Female Artiste


Tiwa Savage

Best Male Artiste

Adekunle Gold
Burna Boy

African Artiste of the Year

Black Coffee (Nigeria)
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)
Soolking (Algeria)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Aya Nakamura (Mali)

Best West African Artiste of the Year

Amaarae (Ghana)
Angelique Kidjo (Benin)
Aya Nakamura (Mali)
Gyakie (Ghana)
Kidi (Ghana)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)

Best East African Artiste of the Year

Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Harmonize (Tanzania)
Meddy (Rwanda)
Nikita Kering (Kenya)
Zuchu (Tanzania)

Best North African Artiste of the Year

Emel Mathlouthi (Tunisia)
Elgrandetoto (Morocco)
Latifa (Tunisia)
Manal (Morocco)
Muhamad Ramadan (Egypt)
Soolking (Algeria)

Best South African Artiste of the Year

Black Coffee (South Africa)
Dj Tarico (Mozambique)
Elaine (South Africa)
Focalistic (South Africa)
Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
Sha Sha (Zimbabwe)

East Central African Artiste of the Year

Calema (Sao Tome and Principe)
Blanche Bailly (Cameroon)
Dadju (DR Congo)
Fally Ipupa (DR Congo)
Innoss’b (DR Congo)
Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Humanitarian Award of the Year

2face Idibia
Don Jazzy

International Artiste Recognition

Wyclef Jean

Special Recognition

Bose Ogulu
Sunday Are
Efe Omorogbe

Hall of Fame

Angelique Kidjo

This year’s event will hold at the Cobbs Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, U.S.A on September 4, 2022.

By Ezinwanne Onwuka (Senior Reporter)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :