CoronavirusNigeriaCOVID-19: FCT, Five States On Red Alert

ABUJA — The Presidential Steering Committee (PSC) on COVID-19 has put six states on red alert as part of the preventive measures against a third wave of the pandemic.

The states are Lagos, Oyo, Rivers, Kaduna, Kano, Plateau, and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT)

A statement signed by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation who doubled as Chairman of PSC, Boss Mustapha said this followed the confirmation of the Delta variant of COVID-19 and the rising number of infections and hospitalization in the country.

The statement said the PSC felicitates with the Muslim Ummah on the occasion of the Eid-el-Kabir celebration.

The PSC also recommended the decentralization of Eid prayer to outdoor neighborhood Friday prayer mosques, suspension of Durbar activities, and observation of limitations on all Indoor gatherings for preventive measures for a safe Eid-el-Kabir celebration.

It urges all State Governments and Religious Leaders to be mindful of the potential for the wider spread of the virus during large gatherings. Nigerians and all residents are reminded to stay safe always.

The statement said: “All states of the Federation should heighten their state of preparedness and continue to enforce all protocols put in place, given the greater ease of spread of the Delta variant.”

 “These steps are critical as we begin to see worrisome early signs of increasing cases in Nigeria.”

“The PSC shall continue to minimize the risk of importation of Variants of Concern into the country by strengthening Surveillance at all Points of Entry (POE), enforcing extant quarantine protocols, and sustaining the current restrictive measures against travelers arriving from India, Brazil, Turkey, and South Africa.”

Hassan Umar Shallpella (Regional Correspondent)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :