MilitaryNewsNigeriaObituarySee the List of Names of NAF Officers that Died in Abuja Crash

The Nigerian Air Force has released the names of seven of its officers who died in Abuja crash on Sunday. The aircraft, Beechcraft KingAir B350i belong to the NAF.

The jet en-route Minna in Niger State, after reporting engine failure, crashed close to the runway of the Abuja airport.

NAF Director of Public Relations and Information, Air Commodore Ibikunle Daramola, in a statement said, the Chief of the Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal IO Amao, has ordered an immediate probe of the accident.

The NAF Spokesperson said the Air Force expressed condolences to the victims’ families. Adding that they have been notified of the accident.

“Scheduled to conduct surveillance missions over Niger State and its environs in connection with the concerted efforts to secure the release of the students/staff abducted from the Government Science College Kagara, Niger State,” the NAF spokesman said.

He lists the names of the officers as:

Flight Lieutenant Haruna Gadzama (Captain).

Flight Lieutenant Henry Piyo (Co-Pilot).

Flying Officer Micheal Okpara (Airborne Tactical Observation System (ATOS) Specialist).

Warrant Officer Bassey Etim (ATOS Specialist).

Flight Sergeant Olasunkanmi Olawunmi (ATOS Specialist).

Sergeant Ugochukwu Oluka (ATOS Specialist).

Aircraftman Adewale Johnson (Onboard Technician).

Daramola added that the scene of the accident had been visited by the CAS on Sunday in the company of the Minister of Defence, Major General Bashir Magashir (retired); Minister of Aviation, Senator Hadi Sirika; Chief of Defence Staff, Major General Lucky Irabor, and other Service Chiefs.

He added, “The CAS, on behalf of officers, airmen, and airwomen of the NAF, once more commiserates with the families of the deceased personnel and prays that the Almighty God grants their souls eternal repose.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :